Maui Home ButtonMauiMolokaiLanaiKauaiMaui Oahu ButtonBig Island
Maui Top Bar Home Maui Home

Maui Hawaii Volcanoes
Home > Maui > Information > Volcanoes

Learn about the 2 Volcanoes of Maui;

Haleakala and the West Maui Mountains

Pink Divider Bar


Haleakala Volcano Photo
Dimensions of Haleakala Crater:
Area = 19 square miles
Length = 7.5 miles long
Width = 2.5 miles wide
Depth = approximately 3,000 feet,
Circumference = 21 miles
20.718 N 156.254 W

Legend states that Haleakala (House of the Sun) is where Maui (a mythical hero) lassoed the sun god, Kala.  Maui broke some of Kala’s legs so that he would move slowly across the sky to provide plenty of warmth and sunshine to the island.
Haleakala National Park occupies the whole of the eastern section, comprising the larger part of Maui.  It holds one of the most spectacular volcanic craters in the world as well as a gorgeous section of the Maui coastline. Climate on the volcano ranges from sub alpine to subtropical rain forests. The volcano is classified as dormant, meaning it is more than likely to erupt again, possibly within the next 100 years. Haleakala’s last eruption was around 1790, near Makena on the southern end of Maui. You can visit there and see the lava fields and lava flow down the mountain.  The oldest rocks above sea level on Haleakala are about 910,000 years old.  The summit of Haleakala is 10,023 feet above sea level, the highest point in Maui. Measured from its actual base at the bottom of the ocean the mountain is an incredible 25,000 feet plus in height.  Haleakala National Park is 28,665 acres.
Haleakala National Park is the most visited part of East Maui. Activities include viewing sunrise and sunset at the summit, stargazing, hiking, bird watching, camping, backpacking, nature walks, wildlife viewing, horseback riding, swimming, interpretive programs, and auto touring.  Haleakala National Park has more endangered species than any other park in the National Park System, including the silversword plant, which grows no where else in the world.
Pink Divider Bar

West Maui Mountains

West Maui Volcano Photo
Area= 175 sq mi
20.54 N 156.35 W

The West Maui mountains were originally known as Mauna Kahalawai which means house of water.  Another Hawaiian name for the mountains is Hale Mahina which means House of the Moon. It is believed that these mountains are named for the Goddess Hina of the Moon. 
The West Mauis house an extinct volcano and stretch over the smaller, western side of the island.  They are much older than Haleakala, more eroded, lush and alive.  Kahalawai is characterized by deep valleys, ridges and steep cliffs. These geological features are the result of millions of years of erosion.  The coastline of the West Mauis varies from the east side to the west. White-sand beaches run along much of the island's western shoreline.  The eastern shoreline is rugged and sparsely populated, with the exception of the towns of Kahului and Wailuku, on the southern end. The west side has a broad plain that flattens to the coast.  The highest peak of these mountains is Pu'u Kukui at 5,788 feet. Iao Valley is the most famous valley of this mountain range.  The West Maui mountains are the second wettest spot in the world at 400 inches of rain per year.
Beneath the West Maui mountains are two of the island's major coastal resorts, Kaanapali and Kapalua. The passageway to these resorts is the historic harbor town of Lahaina, retaining some of its old charm while exploding with shopping centers and retail stores.
West Maui, from Papawai Point to Kahului Bay, makes for an outrageously beautiful, drive.  Activities include beaches, lookouts, hiking, valleys, towns, shopping, water activities, and whale watching.

Pink Divider Bar

Click below for a full directory of Maui Information:

Maui Hawaii Forecast
Bottom Bar Maui Hawaii Information & Travel Guide
Activities, Lodging, Weddings, Restaurants...
| Site Map | Legal Disclaimer | Links | ADVERTISE |

Copyright © 2008-2013